Futsal: Dream dispatch Crown to win Cup as Yeak defeat Mengo City

Futsal 2018/19
Thursday, 13-06-2019
MTN Arena, Lugogo
-Dream 4-2 Crown (Uganda Cup Final)
-Yeak Kabowa 6-5 Mengo City (Super League)

LUGOGO – The 2018/19 Fustal season came to a close with two games played at the MTN Arena in Lugogo, on Thursday evening.

The Uganda Cup final saw Dream defeat Crown 4-2 to seal a second futsal title in as many seasons.

Having failed to defend their league title, Dream came into the game knowing the Cup was their only hope for silver ware at the end of a frustrating campaign.

They got off to a flying start, racing into a 3-0 lead after 8 minutes with goals from Swaibu Kazibwe *2 and Lubega.

Just before the long break, Isma Ssemakula pulled one back for Crown to ensure they go into halftime trailing by two.

After the break, each side struck once. John Ssegawa scored Dream’s goal while Ahmed Abdfatah found the back of the net for Crown.

In the end, Dream won the contest 4-2 to win their first ever Futsal Uganda Cup title. Along with the title, the team took home UGX 2m as prize money.

The Wankulukuku based side joins Luzira Thunders as the two teams to win the first two Cup titles.

Yeak’s Enock Ssebagala finished as the Cup top scorer with 7 goals despite of the fact that his side was eliminated at the semi final stage by Crown.

In the other game played on Wednesday, Yeak Kabowa capped off a magnificent season, taking care of Mengo City 5-4 in the league crowning fixture.

Having secured the title already, issues of complacency could be heard in the echoes of the MTN Arena but the Kabowa based side stood up to the task and won the game.

The first period was action packed as goals were flying in at both ends.

However, at the end of it, Yeak were leading 3-2 thanks to goals from John Musasizi, Enock Ssebagala and Shaffic Avemah.

Najib Muwonge and Swaleh Kaboyo replied for Mengo to ensure it is a contest, heading into the final period.

In the second, Avemah completed his hat trick with a quick-fire brace while Enock Ssebagala added another to see Kabowa win the contest 6-5.

However, it would not go with out nerves for Kabowa as Mengo struck three time in the second to make it a thrilling spectacle on the eye.

Mengo’s second period goals were scored by Jummah Lutankome *2 and Ismail Makanga.

The result means that Yeak end the season with 66 points, 12 ahead of second placed Park. They walked home with UGX 3m as prize money for winning the league.

For Mengo City, they finish in 9th with 33 points.

Avemah took home the golden boot with 43 goals while Ssebagala was named the best player of the season.

The Golden Glove accolade was scoped by Park’s Given Mubiru who conceded 56 goals all season.

Futsal Super League past winners

-Dream 2017/18
-Yeak Kabowa 2018/19

PML Daily

Leave a Reply